City of Murals
Cruise the streets of Hominy, where 40 murals have been painted
on the sides of city buildings. Most are the work of Hominy native,
Blackfoot artist Cha' Tullis. Meet Tullis at Cha' Tullis Designs,
a gallery where he sells jewelry, painted clothing and other art.
You can pick up a map of the murals at the visitors information
center at a restored MKT Depot on Main Street. Don't miss "New
Territory" sculpture - twenty-foot steel images top a hill
on the west side of town. Try the burgers at the Silver Dollar Cafe
in the same building.
Hominy was named for the Osage chief Ho-Mo-I, which translates
to Walks in the Night, and was first home to one of the tribe's
three main groups. The Osage traditionally held dances in structures
called roundhouses; the 1919 Osage Roundhouse west of town is the
last in the county.
For a look and grand old Hominy, visit the 1905 Victorian-style
Drummond Home, built by merchant Fred Drummond. Drummond's descendants
left the house and its contents to the Oklahoma Historical Society.
E.W. Marland's oil empire was just one county away, where a Marland
Oil Co. Station (c. 1925) has been restored and holds oil company
memorabilia. Also in Hominy is Shady Brook, the 1903 Victorian home
of prominent local doctor J.J. Fariley, and a 1904 sandstone schoolhouse,
the Little Stone School. Ten miles west of town is the White hair
Memorial, the former home of the first woman to be nominated to
the Osage Tribal Council and a descendant of Chief Pawhuska. Ribbonwork
and other cultural items are on display.
BY CAR: West 24 miles from US 75 Expressway via Skiatook
on Oklahoma Highway 20; North 18 miles from the Cimarron Turnpike
on Oklahoma Highway 99.
BY TOUR BUS: Contact Capitol Tours 405-525-6100 (Oklahoma
City), Jefferson Lines 800-827-7433 (Tulsa); Kincaid Coach Lines
800-998-1903 (Oklahoma City); Village Tours, (800) 283-3338 (Oklahoma
City and Wichita).
The hills and prairies of what is now Osage County were the
ancient hunting grounds of the Osage people. In 1872, following
several forced moves from their old lands in Missouri, the
Osage moved to their "last reservation" - their
old hunting ground.
The Osage looked forward to being undisturbed in the rock
limestone country, land that was hostile to the plow. But
it was a land rich in grass and underlain by great pools of
oil. The Osage, however, were never to find the peace and
independence they sought.
After years of resistance, the Reservation was allotted in
1906, and in 1907, with Oklahoma's statehood, the Osage Reservation
became Osage County.
The white man came to the Osage Reservation in 1872. One
of the three principal trading posts operating on the Reservation
was Hominy Post, founded in 1886. In 1903, the Missouri-Kansas-Texas
Railroad came to the Reservation. A key stop on that line
was the little trading village of Hominy Post. After allotment,
the oil boom that would transform Hominy Post into the city
of Hominy began, lasting throughout the teens and 20s until
the crash of the Great Depress;ion.
For decades, Hominy was a bustling center of trade, ranching
At the height of its prosperity, Hominy's population reached
5,000. Wide brick streets lined with attractive homes, substantial
business buildings on Main Street, and proud and optimistic
citizens characterized Hominy in the middle 20s. In the last
50 years, Osage County economy has been one boom and bust
in the oil and cattle industries. In the coming years Hominy
looks ahead to attracting new industries, manufacturing and
Artist Cha' Tullis, a Blackfoot Indian, began painting giant
murals in Hominy in April 1990. Along with other local artists,
40 and more spectacular murals depict Indian folklore and
are a delight to behold, located on various buildings throughout
Cha' also has created several outstanding metal sculptures
of Indians high atop Standpipe Hill in Hominy, as well as
a handsome buffalo that stands next to the Gazebo on the Green
downtown. Cha' has been able to create these extraordinary
works of art through private donations, as well as grants
from the State Arts Council. Cha' and his wife, Teena, have
a gallery and gift shop on Main Street, and they encourage
you to stop in and get acquainted.
The present depot was expanded in 1925 from the original depot
built about 1910. Missouri-Kansas-Texas service started in
1904 and continued until 1977. During the oil boom years of
the 1920s, nine freight and four passenger grains stopped
in Hominy each day.
Adapted for community use during the 1980s, the north end's
original waiting rooms serve as the Chamber of Commerce office.
The south end is now the Silver Dollar Depot Cafe.
Main and Katy, 300 W Main
Fred Drummond moved to Hominy from Pawhuska to begin construction
on his home and mercantile business in 1905. He and his family
later expanded into cattle ranching.
The home and its original furnishings were donated to the
Oklahoma Historic Society in 1980 and interprets the oil boom
years between 1915 and 1920.
Hours: Friday and Saturday, 9:00 am to 5:00
Sunday, 1:00 to 5:00 pm
305 N. Price
The 1904 Stone School House was built as a subscription school
on the Osage Reservation. The building was also used for early
church services, funerals, and plays.
Literally saved from the bulldozer in the 1960s, it now serves
as the administrative office of the Hominy independent school
Highway 20 and Pettit
Hominy's 1921 Marland service station is one of the few surviving
examples of the popular triangle design utilized by the old
Marland Oil Company (now Conoco). The building is under restoration
by the Hominy Heritage Association.
Stop in at the station and study some of the bygone road
service memorabilia displayed on the wall alongside the station.
Main and Wood
Built in 1919 to replace an earlier roundhouse, it is the
only surviving community round house in Osage County. Traditionally
the focus for village activities, it has been used for dances,
gatherings, and meetings and is a symbol of tribal unity and
tradition to the Osage Indians.
Osage Indian Village
Located East of SH-99 S.